The Seanhanna awards returned for 2023 and celebrated a special anniversary, some 40 years in the hairdressing industry, where guests enjoyed impressive hair shows from its creative team too…

Deep in the heart of a Vauxhall nightclub, two major hairdressing events in one recently took place. Award-winning salon group Seanhanna gave out gongs for its stylists and salon staff of the year, but that wasn’t all…

There was also a very special anniversary to celebrate, it’s been 40 years, (42 in fact, due to Covid delays), since Sean Hanna, now managing director of the group, decided that accounting wasn’t his thing and hairdressing was. The rest, as they say, is history.

As the audience took their seats at FIRE, a striking subterranean London venue with exposed brickwork aplenty, it wasn’t the awards ceremony that started off the night, but a striking set of visuals that detailed the Seanhanna story through over 40 years of British hair trends, politics, fashion, and pop-culture. From shots of Thatcher to the buzz around the millennium and beyond, we all took the legacy in. Seanhanna’s certainly seen it all…

Then it was time for Seanhanna’s stylists to shine with a high-octane hair show. For colour director, Lloyd Court, it was all about colour and layering different looks on his models as the audience watched on in real time, enthralled. Artistic director, Yesmin O’Brien brought operatic rock vibes to the stage with Queen inspired hair looks, while Phoebe Carraro and Amy Farrow, part of Seanhanna’s new generation team, opted for lacquered high hair drama.

Then it was time to crown the winners of 2023, here they are…

Special recognition
Winner: Sudi Alavi Ghahfarokhi

Outstanding Contribution
Winner: Juliet Shadenburg

Retail Stylist of the Year 
Winner: Joanna Sawyer

Retail Receptionist of the Year 
Winner: Punam Tailor

Edward Bywaters Award 
Winner: Molly Jones

Social Media Award 
Winner: Amy Farrow

Receptionist of the Year
Winner: Karolina Klipacs

Salon Stylist of the Year 
Winner: Eun Sook Halls

Manager of the Year
Winner: Punam Tailor

Salon of the Year
Winner: Wimbledon

The Creative Awards…

Newcomer of the Year
Winner: Hannah Adriaanse

Mens Stylist of the Year
Winner: Maria Ollivierre-Brown

Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year
Winner: Phoebe Carraro

Colourist of the Year
Winner: Emma Diaz

Stylist of the Year
Winner: Aaliyah Zreik


Images by Mike Prior